The Umbrellas were formed in 1985 to play Peter Dasent's original music. Starting out as a small chamber ensemble (piano, vibes, oboe, bassoon and double bass) with the occasional wild saxophone (courtesy Australian jazz legend Mark Simmonds), the group gradually evolved over the next ten years into the lineup which features on the 2015 release "Lounge Suite Tango"


Peter Dasent - piano, organ, accordion

James Greening - trombone, pocket trumpet, sousaphone

Andrew Robson - alto and baritone saxes

Andrew "Wilks" Wilkie - vibes and marimba

Zoe Hauptmann/Steve Elphick - double bass

Toby Hall - drums


WATCH an amusing VIDEO directed by Fane Flaws here -


LISTEN to the TITLE TRACK in the Soundcloud link below...


Lounge Suite Tango (2015)

1. Lounge Suite Tango

2. Ernie's Green Bucket

3. Hank's Vacation

4. Quick March

5. Lost At Sea

6. Bendix

7. Sleeping Beauty

8. Blues For The High Priest

The Umbrellas (1986) 

Recorded by Barry Wolifson at a live concert at Studio 228 in Darlinghurst, Sydney in September 1985.

With Peter Dasent on piano and organ, Jonathan Zwartz on double bass, Mark Simmonds on tenor sax, Andrew Wilkie on vibes and marimba and John Armstrong and Doug Eyre on oboe and bassoon.

Released on LP (out of print) in 1986.

Remastered for digital release on Sept 1, 2015

Age Of Elegance (1990)

Recorded by Barry Wolifson at Electric Ave Sydney, with two tracks recorded live at the Sydney Opera House with the Sydney String Quartet.

PD - piano/organ/accordion

Mark Simmonds - tenor sax

James Greening - trombone

Jonathan Zwartz - double bass

Martin Highland - drums

and Liz Hayles (oboe), George Washingmachine (violin), Nigel Westlake (clarinet), Tony Backhouse and The Elevators (vocals on "French")

Physical CD out of print.

Remastered for digital release on Sept 1, 2015

Soundtrack To The Passing Parade (1992)

Recorded live by Barry Wolifson at Electric Ave Sydney.

PD - piano, organ, accordion

JZ - double bass

Andrew Dickeson, Toby Hall - drums

Mark Bruwel, Rita Van Ooi - oboe

James Greening - Trombone

Tim Hopkins - Tenor sax


Remastered for digital release on Sept 1, 2015

Bravo Nino Rota (CD) (2001 - re-released with new cover and booklet 2016)

Arrangements of six Fellini film scores composed by Nino Rota. Recorded and mixed by Phil Punch at Electric Ave.

Originally released in 2001, the CD has now been re-released with new cover and revised booklet. Also available as LP (see below).

Bravo Nino Rota (LP) (2011)

Limited edition vinyl LP of containing three of the suites from the CD. Mastered by George Merino at Sterling Sound in New York and released on the Experience Vinyl label.

Only available from this website, LPs are $30 each plus postage. Email me!